Sydney United 58 ready for the Heat


Former National Soccer League side Sydney United 58 will be out to prove they are as strong as ever when they face Far North Queensland FC Heat in the round of 32 of the inaugural FFA Cup.

United 58 have had a below par season in the IGA National Premier League NSW men’s 1 competition but have picked up their game the past few weeks.

Despite the results the side possess talent all over the field including former A-League representatives Mirjan Pavlovic (Wellington Phoenix), Joel Chianese (Sydney FC) and  Alec Urosevski (Sydney FC). Throw in former Newcastle Jets midfielder Chris Triantis who has reutnred froma serious knee injury and United 58 have a side capable of springing several upsets in the competition.

The Edensor Park side qualified for the Westfield FFA Cup in dramatic fashion with Pavlovic slotting home a 91st minute winner over Parramatta FC to clinch the fifth NSW spot.

Far North Queensland FC will not be an easy task either with Sydney United 58 already realising they will come up against one of their conquerors in Alex Smith.

The Heat captain scored the opening goal for Sydney Olympic in their 2-0 victory over United 58 in the 2011 IGA National Premier League NSW men’s 1 grand final.

After the triumph he went on to record 40 appearances and one goal for the Wellington Phoenix before joining the Heat.

Far North Queensland recently went on an eight-game winning streak in the National Premier League Queensland competition and sit in 6th position.

Their 6-1 demolition of the Mackay Magpies saw them qualify for the Westfield FFA Cup.

The two will clash at Sydney United Sports Centre on August 12 at 7.30pm.

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Sydney United 58 FC v FNQ Heat

Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor (NSW) 

Kick-off: 7.30pm local (7:30pm AEST)

Referee: Jonathan Barriero

Assistant Referee 1: Andrej Giev

Assistant Referee 2: James Tesoriero

Fourth Official: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Coverage details: Visit for a LIVE stream of the match

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #SUvFNQ

Tickets will be available to purchase at the venue

Sydney United 58 FC squad: 1.Anthony COSTA (GK), 2.Anthony TOMELIC, 3.Christopher ZUVELA, 4.Nathan SHERLOCK, 5.Ibrahim HAYDAR, 6.Mitchell STAMATELLIS, 7.Mirjan PAVLOVIC, 8.Ante TOMIC, 9.Robert MILESKI, 10.Chris TRIANTIS, 11.Luka GLAVAS, 12.Ivan PAVLAK, 13.Richard DARKO, 14.Joel CHIANESE, 15.Mark CINDRIC, 16.Stjepan PARIC, 17.Theo KOFINAS, 18.Alec UROSEVSKI, 19.Matthew BILIC, 20.Jayden DIACONO (GK), 22.Jacob ESPOSITO, 23.Domenico TRIPODI, 30.Luke BABIC (GK)

FNQ Heat squad: 1.Kevin WARD (GK), 2.Jash JENNISON, 3.Calum WOOD, 4.Tamas MAFFEY-STUMPE, 5.Cameron MORRISON, 6.Jake KESLAKE, 7.Josh PIN, 8.Alex SMITH, 9.Ethan DOCHERTY, 10.Crios O’HARE, 11.Zenon CARAVELLA, 12.Cameron NUCIFORA, 13.Thane BEALE, 14.Simon FERNANDEZ, 15.Tom MURPHY, 16.Josh De NITTIS, 17.Jamie CARROL, 18.Matthew MURPHY, 19.Mqondisi NKIWANE, 20.Daniel VALCICAK (GK), 22.David DiLUCCIO, 23.Jamie GOSLING, 24.Mitchell BEVAN

 -By Chris Georges